Department Directory

Contact Us

City Hall - Municipal Building
201 W. Virginia Ave. 
970.641.8080  ·  Fax 970.641.8051
City Manager, City Clerk, Municipal Court, Community Development, Fire, Finance, & Information Technology 
Building · Community Development · Planning                      970.641.8090  
City Manager  ·  City Clerk  ·  Municipal Court                           970.641.8080
Finance                                                                                                970.641.8070  
Fire                                                                                                         970.641.8153
Information Technology                                                                  970.641.8179
Community Center
200 E. Spencer Ave. 
970.641.8060 ·  Fax 970.641.8011
Parks & Recreation, Aquatics Center, Ice Rink, Cranor Ski Hill, Jorgensen Event Center, & Senior Center
Aquatics                                                                 970.641.8424
Cranor Ski Area                                                     970.641.4655
Ice Rink                                                                   970.641.8061
Jorgensen Ice & Event Center                          970.641.0435
Parks and Recreation                                         970.641.8060
Seniors                                                                    970.641.8272
Gunnison Police Department 
910 W. Bidwell Ave.
970.641.8200 ·  Fax 970.641.8053
Police, Neighborhood Services, Records, Communications, and Victims Services
Communications                                                                             970.641.8200 
Neighborhood Services                                                                 970.641.8242
Police                                                                                                  970.641.8200
Records                                                                                             970.641.8254
Victim Services                                                                                970.641.8299 
Public Works 
1100 W. Virginia Ave. 
970.641.8020 ·  Fax 970.641.8021
Electric, Fleet, Refuse & Recycling, Water & Sewer, and Streets & Alleys 
Public Works

Wastewater Treatment Plant
524 County Road 32
970.641.8040

Drinking Water Testing, Gunny Gold
Wastewater Treatment Plant

Department Name First Name Last Name Profession Email Phone
City Manager Russ Forrest City Manager rforrest@gunnisonco.gov (970) 641-8171
City Clerk Erica Boucher City Clerk eboucher@gunnisonco.gov (970) 641-8140
City Clerk Cassie Mason Deputy City Clerk cmason@gunnisonco.gov (970) 641-8141
City Clerk Annie Chaivre Court Clerk achaivre@gunnisonco.gov (970) 641-8170
City Clerk Ricardo Esqueda Community Liaison Enlace Comunitario REsqueda@gunnisonco.gov (970) 901-7628
Fire Hugo Ferchau Fire Marshal HFerchau@gunnisonco.gov (970) 641-8153
Finance Tammy Shelafo Human Resources tshelafo@gunnisonco.gov (970) 641-8248
Finance Shannon Rogers Accountant/Deputy Finance Director srogers@gunnisonco.gov (970) 641-8070
Finance Ben Cowan Finance Director bcowan@gunnisonco.gov (970) 641-8070
Information Technology Mike Lee IT Director mlee@gunnisonco.gov (970) 641-8179
Public Works David Gardner Public Works Director DGardner@gunnisonco.gov (970) 641-8020
Public Works Cody Tusing City Engineer CTusing@gunnisonco.gov (970) 641-8020
Public Works Will Dowis Electric Superintendent WDowis@gunnisonco.gov (970) 641-8020
Public Works Preston Irby Fleet Superintendent PIrby@gunnisonco.gov (970) 641-8020
Public Works Mike Rogers Water & Wastewater Superintendent MRogers@gunnisonco.gov (970) 641-8020
Public Works Jason Kibler Streets & Refuse Superintendent JKibler@gunnisonco.gov (970) 641-8020
Public Works Chris Green Facilities Manager CGreen@gunnisonco.gov (970) 641-8020
Public Works Lisa Starkebaum Engineering and GIS Technician LStarkebaum@gunnisonco.gov (970) 641-8020
Public Works Connie Johnson Administrative Assistant CJohnson@gunnisonco.gov (970) 641-8020

Welcome to Gunnison

Gunnison is a small mountain community on the western slope of Colorado with a population of approximately 6,560 full time residents. The population increases annually with the influx of tourism and Western Colorado University students numbering an additional 2,500. The City of Gunnison is the county seat for Gunnison County. Gunnison has a rich history of ranching, agriculture, mining, tourism and outdoor recreation opportunities that bring many more people through the community.
Learn More