close menu
This website uses cookies to store your accessibility preferences. No personal / identifying information is stored. More info.

2021 Town Elections

2021 Town Election
Tuesday September 28, 2021
22 East Main Street - 7:00 am - 8:00 pm

Up for Vote:
Two Commissioner Seats

Candidates for Commissioner
1. Clifford Lee Sweeney
2. Liz Buckman
3. Rosario Benvenji

4. Tim O’Donnell
2021 election results
Contact a candidate directly:
Cliff Sweeney
Rosario Benvengi

Voters must be citizens of Emmitsburg for a minimum of thirty days prior to election day (August 27, 2021) & must be registered to vote in Frederick County (August 27, 2021). 

Check your voter status online via the Voter Lookup Tool.  Click on "My Voting Districts" and your Municipal District should read "EMM".  You can also call the Frederick County Board of Elections at 301-600-8683 to verify your voting information.

Register to vote online on the MD Board of Elections Website or via voter registration form (English or Espanol). Registration forms can be obtained from the Town Office as well.

Absentee Ballot Requests must be turned in to the Town Clerk by close of business on Tuesday September 14, 2021.  

You must be registered to vote to obtain an absentee ballot. Absentee ballot voting is available for any qualified voter who is unable to cast a ballot during regularly scheduled election day hours due to (1) vacation and/or business travel outside of Town; (2) a physical condition, illness, injury, disability, or other medical condition or health related circumstance that creates a risk of substantial harm; (3) military service; (4) attendance of school outside of Frederick County; or (5) employment and/or commute during polling hours.

 Election Judges:

o   Chief Judge: Lynn Orndorff 
o   Judge: Tammy May
o   Judge: Charlotte Mazaleski
o   Greeter: Deborah Arnold

Filing for Candidacy 
Candidates must file a written application for candidacy with the Town Clerk by 4:00 p.m. on Friday August 27, 2021.  Financial Disclosures for each candidate are also due Friday August 27, 2021 by 4:00 p.m.
All candidates will be posted on the Town bulletin board in alphabetical order.
Write-In candidate deadline is Tuesday September 21, 2021 at Noon.

Questions about candidacy?  Call us at 301-600-6300 or email Maddy Shaw, Town Clerk at

Documents  for Download:

Candidacy Form
Article II - Board of Commissioners
Election Code 2_28
Financial Disclosure

Frederick County Voter Registration Form (English)
Frederick County Voter Registration Form (Spanish)
Absentee Ballot Request (Emmitsburg)

Stay in the know with email updates & monthly newsletters.